Thursday, November 24, 2011

Noah and the Whale: Concert Review

Band: Noah And The Whale and Nikki Lane
Date: November 22, 2011
Location: House Of Blues Anaheim, CA

Preconceived Thoughts of the Band: I got introduced to Noah and the Whale from a mix CD I got a year ago. I enjoyed their music. The singer sounds like a mix of Mumford and Son and Frightened Rabbit. Their music is acoustic based driven by finger picking guitar and soothing violin playing. My favorite tracks would have to be the fast paced song Rocks And Daggers to the powerful anthem song First Day Of Spring

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Girl Talk: Nostalgia Concert Review

Band: Girl Talk Opener: Max Tundra
Date: March 18, 2011
Location: The Fox Theater

Preconceived Thoughts of the Band: I got introduced to Girl Talk when I was swamping music with a friend of mine. It was then that I also got introduced with the genre Mash-up. Pretty self-explanatory, but it's pretty much when the DJ mixes two songs together and the elements from each to make a completely new song. It's far from sampling and it's not considered a new song. His music is always upbeat and at time nostalgic because of the music he mixes. I thought his concert would be a dance party just like Passion Pit.

Things I Hate (Bitch Post)

There is an unwritten concert etiquette that people blow off in the concerts. Being in 6 concerts this semester, I saw the same things being broken through out. I'll just point some out. 

1. Bros - When did they start listening to good music?! What happened to them listening to Dave Matthews, Creed and Nickelback? (yes, I know I'm stereotyping) but seriously. I've had enough of their attitude and their fist pumping. The majority of them are completely drunk, loud and obnoxious. The completely ruin the experience and atmosphere. I am 90% sure, there do not know the band performing. I will bet on it. 

2. The Concert Hug - I'll explain. So let's say your like in the pit area and your right behind a person that is in front of a the barrier. You waited for a long time outside and you got to the front. There is a person that got to the venue like 30 mins late. She see that your in front of their friend. The person behind me taps their friend they turn around and pretty much sandwich me while pulling their friend's arm to get to the front. It's one of my pet peeves at concerts. That's why I always say "Stand Your Ground!"

3. People with Drinks or Smoking - Especially at a rave or a concert that will involve dancing. Why would anyone bring a drink in the middle of the pit, where people are constantly moving?! It WILL spill! duh! I've had a couple of experiences with spilled drinks. I've was sticky the rest of the concert. There was an instance with a person that was not careful with their cigarette that it burned my left arm. It was a horrible sting. 

4. Out of Tune Singers - I will admit, I was one of those people. Going to my very first concert ever, I didn't know what to do! I had so much adrenaline, I was just singing along while recording the performance. When I went back home and watched the performance, I couldn't believe how out of tune and out of key I was. blahhh....but eventually I got better. It's horrible listening to a person practically yelling wrong notes in your ears while enjoying the concert. blahhhh

Do you guys agree?

Pop Punks Not Dead: Concert Review

Band: Set Your Goals, The Wonder Years, Man Overboard, This Time Next Year
Date: November 16, 2011
Location: The Regency Ballroom, San Francisco, CA

Preconceived Thoughts of the Band: 
I have been waiting for the Pop Punks Not Dead tour for months now!! This is because I've been dying over The Wonder Years. When I first heard them a couple months back, I was like WTF how have I gone without them?! They are my exact kind of musical interest. Besides The Wonder Years, I have only really really slightly listened to Man Overboard and Set Your Goals. Just to note, New Found Glory was headlining this tour, but I didn't stay to see them unfortunately :( Even though pop punk isn't dead...I have to pass all my classes ;)

What Actually Happened (BITCH SPOILER ALERT!!!) 

I actually ended up going to this show alone, which is a first for me. Before I got in to the venue, I may have had a little to drink to loosen me up a bit..Anyhow. When I got there This Time Next Year had just started to play. There was already a good circle pit going and a bunch of people in the crowd. I had never listened to them before, but apparently they are a relatively local band to the bay area, so they had a good amount of fans for the first band. They were pretty good, I enjoyed their set and their music. Next was Man Overboard. I ended up moving closer to the stage, probably about 3 rows in. I have only recently started listening to Man Overboard, and I really didn't recognize any of their songs. I really liked them though! They are definitely my type of music, so it was fun. As another note, there were a ton...ton...of attractive guys at this show. I usually dont swoon this hard, but Pop Punks Not Dead tour definitely attracted some hot guys. I was literally surrounded by them during the Man Overboard complaints there. After Man Overboard finished I was eavesdropping on some of the guys around me and they were saying how Man Overboard on their albums usually didn't sound as hard as they did live. Take that as you will, I feel I would like them either way.

THE WONDER YEARS. Wow, just really, what can I say? I had been dying for this part of the show for months. When the lights dimmed, I swear there was so much energy in the room. It was exactly how I had imagined. People moving, screaming the lyrics, just really good energy. The show was so much fun. The Wonder Years seriously killed it. They put on just an amazing set. Their stage energy is spot on and the fans and the crowd just ate it up. I had so much fun. It was worth the drive and worth going by myself as well. I just seriously felt like this was the place I wanted to be. It was so much fun, I love it when other people are feeling and connecting to the music as much as I do. It was an absolutely amazing show.

After The Wonder Years, Set Your Goals played. I had moved way over to the side by the wall of the room and was watching from there. I really dont listen to Set Your Goals, but I recognized one song. Just by watching the crowd, it looked really fun. There were a lot of people in there really in to it. Once again, like other shows, it made me wish I knew their music so I could be in the crowd having fun. Set Your Goals was originally from the Bay Area, and they definitely had a lot of fans. Their stage presence was really really strong. They looked like they were having a blast on stage and it definitely pumped up the crowd.

Verdict - Absolutely amazing sets, awesome crowd. Pop Punks Not Dead Tour brought it hard this year.

Bitch Rate: 0/5...No complaints here. 

Sunday, November 13, 2011

30H!3 and Hellogoodbye: Nostalgia Concert Review

Band: 3OH!3, Hellogoodbye, Down with Webster and K. Flay 
Date: November 18, 2010
Location: Slims, San Francisco, CA

Preconceived Thoughts of the Band: 
I love Hellogoodbye! I've seen them probably 7 or 8 times. They put on awesome shows! When this show came around I haaaaad to go because they had just put out their new album, Would It Kill You? And I really loved that album, so I was stoked for this show. I was also really excited to see 3OH!3, because I had been to see them live once or twice before and they have really great stage presence. I had never heard of the other 2 opening bands however. 

What Actually Happened (BITCH SPOILER ALERT!!!) 

Hey Monday, Cartel, and The Ready Set: Nostalgia Concert Review

Band: Hey Monday, Cartel, and The Ready Set
Date: November 17, 2010
Location: Great American Music Hall, San Francisco, CA

Preconceived Thoughts of the Band: 
At the time of this show, The Ready Set was still on the edge for me. I had seen them live once or twice before this show, and I wasn't really feeling them yet. It wasn't until this show that I finally enjoyed their set (even though I still laugh at Jordan's dance moves). Cartel, being an older band in comparison to the others, I hadn't really listened to that much. I knew about 4-5 songs out of their set. As for Hey Monday, I will also still warming up to their sound/liking Cassidee Pope.

What Actually Happened (BITCH SPOILER ALERT!!!) 

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Dead Kennedys: Nostalgia Concert Review

Band: Dead Kennedys Opener: Ol' Dirty Bastards
Date: February 5, 2011
Location: The Catalyst

Preconcieved Thoughts of the Band: These are the original hardcore/punk band of the 80s. They are LEGENDARY! They influence other punk rock bands well into the 90s. I did some research on them in one my classes. They are known for their political lyrics and fast driven songs. Now I wanted to see them in action. The only down side was the new singer. Jello left the band, and was replaced by "Skip". People actually turned down this concert because of the singer, and I completely understand, but I just couldn't help it. I wanted to see them no matter what.